Home Buying Guide: The Conveyancing Process

The Conveyancing Process at a Glance

Buying or selling a home is a complex business, both legally and administratively. The exact order of events varies slightly, but there are three main stages to the process.

The three main stages are outlined at the most basic level below. Follow the links for more detailed information on what each individual stage entails.

Stage One: Before the Exchange of Contracts

The draft contract is received and negotiated, enquiries are made and the formal mortgage offer is received. See further Stage One in Detail.

Stage Two: Exchange of Contracts

The contract is signed and you hand over a deposit. Final accounts are prepared and the mortgage deed requested for you to sign. Final searches are made. See further Stage Two in Detail.

Stage Three: Completion

You obtain the keys to your new home and receive the title deeds. Stamp duty is paid and the transfer is arranged at the Land Registry. See further Stage Three in Detail.

Get a Conveyancing Quote

To get quotes for your move from the conveyancing firms that provide services in your area, please fill in our simple Conveyancing Quote Registration Form. Or select from our directory of Conveyancing Services.